Pattern Play

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My latest online obsession is vintage pattern hunting on Etsy. It’s an amazing way to kill half a night and pick up some amazing finds. Favorite categories are dresses from the 1970’s and blouses and skirts from the 1980’s. One such score is the ’80’s open-backed wonder that to me has a bit of the Mociun (below right) about it.  But it’s also a bit like the H&M dress (below left) as modeled by the enviously stylish Jeana Sohn (I have a print by Jeana Sohn {she’s so talented, she really deserves her own post} I picked up years ago at Giant Robot that I still have not framed. The list is so long of things to get to.) Either way, with the right fabric, and shortened up a little, I think it could be great. When the challenge is over I may have to splurge on an original Mociun piece (my budget will still dictate sale items only) but for now I think I’ll see about making my own home-made  homage version. Next,  I just need to figure out how to sew those pesky button holes.

And no, I won’t divulge my Etsy pattern sources, at least not until I’ve fattened up my pattern library a little more.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5 other followers

  • Contact

    Questions or comments may be directed to oakland.etsuko@gmail.com
