Craft Envy

I probably shouldn’t undertake another type of craftiness before I’ve even begun sewing proper, but Jill Tamaki’s monster embroidered quilt is making me want to do just that. I have always admired those little hand-made touches you may come across on pillow cases and old handkerchiefs, especially when they are used as a repair to cover up a tear, but this whimsical quilt takes embroidery to a whole different level. I love the golden Frida Kahlo monster with the red tufts of hair. Then there is Karen Barbe and her tablet weaving. Many, many moons ago Pops made me a small tabletop loom for a school project on weaving (I believe it was linked to learning a craft after a Plymouth Plantation field trip.) I deeply regret the loss of this small treasure. Eventually this is something I’ll have to learn as well. But sewing first, I promise, and soon.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5 other followers

  • Contact

    Questions or comments may be directed to oakland.etsuko@gmail.com
