Couch…Ouch

My living room is pretty much set up excepting a little art that needs to be hung and a lamp for reading on the couch. Oh, and speaking of the couch. Take a look. It looks like a craigslist posting for something free as long as you come to take it away. It looks horrible. I originally got it over at ‘The Touch’ in the Mission when I first moved to San Francisco, and it was much prettier six years ago. Sturdy and comfortable still, but something needs to be done about the black paint and the beyond faded fabric. The cushion foam should probably also be replaced. I don’t really feel like a new couch and haven’t seen that many that I’d be willing to pay a grand for. But will it be any more economical to do an overhaul on this old thing?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leilani over at A Ruffled Feather has a beautiful couch (and a charming rug) that I could happily spend several hours curled into checking over the blog world. Other spaces I’ve seen make me believe that an armless couch tucked into a corner doesn’t have to look awkward. And the leather couch? I can certainly dream. I’d like to remove all that black paint and take it back down to a pale wood if possible. That gorgeous wool fabric from Stonemountain and Daughter, would it be comfortable? Is it even the right weight? I’m going to have to do some research.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5 other followers

  • Contact

    Questions or comments may be directed to oakland.etsuko@gmail.com
