The Thrill of the Thrift

I’ve been picking up a few good things lately in the East Bay thrifting rounds.  A new place I checked out the other day on Piedmont, The Discovery Store, I had high hopes for but their prices seemed a bit inflated and the selection, at least on that day, wasn’t too inspiring. My only find was a sweet 1950’s style silk scarf of San Francisco tourist attractions. The Challenge prohibits clothes shopping, but this scarf was in such a delicate condition I don’t think I would ever wear it anyway; it might work as a wall hanging and at $3.00, worth it to find out. Another shop on Piedmont was where I found the state map of Nevada tray ($7.00) that will commemorate last Thanksgivings’ trip to that charming state and my love of trays.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Creative Reuse Depot provided me with a large and unusual thrown flower pot ($2.50) as well as the previously mentioned wooden spools  of thread (.25 cents each) and two embroidery hoops (.50 cents each). I saw a lovely use of embroidery frames in an old Apartment Therapy post and I might try to replicate that idea. Pickle Thrift recently had a large selection of decorative plates featuring Queen Elizabeth II and the marriage of Charles and Diana. I’m not a huge Anglophile but the kitsch factor was high and I couldn’t resist a few small saucers and dishes ($3.00 to $6.00 each).

Comments
2 Responses to “The Thrill of the Thrift”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] got the fan and the framed bits and some other things, $15.00. I got my Nevada plate, to match my Nevada tray, and a gift for Obasan, $5.00. The dish towels, the tobacco tins, and a gorgeous powder compact I […]

  2. […] will get me from here to the Secession building.Qing Dao, China; I may need to supplement my British monarchy plates with some Mao plates.Photograph by MCM‘s friend Javier Salazar; he has lots of good stuff.I […]



Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5 other followers

  • Contact

    Questions or comments may be directed to oakland.etsuko@gmail.com
