Off to Bedfordshire

When I first moved into TOA I acquired a very, very nice mattress that was a little larger than my previous full-sized one and had no bed frame to accommodate it. Some of you may have enjoyed laughing at me for the several months in which I had a giant mattress propped up in the living room. Lovely JB loaned her nice Pottery Barn bed frame that was in storage so I could clean up the space and be a little more grown up. This was my first bed frame ever, previously preferring to wedge my beds into any little alcove that would hold them (in college that included a fireplace) and I admit it made me a little uncomfortable. It was massive. I felt I was riding down the Nile on Cleopatra’s barge. Did I mention how nice it was of JB to loan me her bed? So when she asked for the frame back this week, no problem, it wasn’t really right for me anyway, and I already had something else in mind.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Last month I watched ‘Bonnie and Clyde’ and, beyond Faye Dunaway’s gorgeous wardrobe, I kept noticing all the metal bed frames (which of course work very well with the ‘don’t fence me in’ metaphors of the movie.) If you’re going the headboard and footboard route, over just a platform, it’s great because it’s so much more open and airy than anything else. This might be perfect.

I don’t want to go too girly or, in the other direction, too institutional (although good opportunity here to practice Obasan’s hospital corners.) I want to stick with ‘Bonnie and Clyde’s’ simple depression era farmhouse and not channel ‘One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest.’ Crate and Barrel has the Porto for $549, not bad, and it is very nicely shown here with the quilt that is on sale at Crate and Barrel Outlet for $100 that I’m coveting. Pottery Barn has the Adrienne for $499. Better price and I like the shape more, but it needs a box spring and my mattress is the non-box spring type. So that brings us to Ikea. Great in so many ways and not so great in others. Everyone I know with an Ikea bed frame hates them and says they don’t hold up. But the Lillesand is $179 and the shape I like best of the three. It’s solid metal, no mdf, so that should count for something, right?

Apologies for the uncredited photos, I pulled these months ago and have lost the links.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5 other followers

  • Contact

    Questions or comments may be directed to oakland.etsuko@gmail.com
