Summer Reading List

I have been inspired by Erik Heywood’s reading lists to put up my own summer reading plans.

First and foremost I wish to read Julia Childs memoir; saw that movie, you know the one, and agreed that the best parts were the Julia parts, so why not cut straight to the source. Paris, food, and love, all things I can agree with.

Travelogues are great for the summer and ‘A Journey with Elsa Cloud’ is a book I started last year (it is a thick book) and mean to finish soon. Leila Hadley is too engaging writer for her work to be languishing on my side table. This is an interesting autobiograpghy of her time in India with her daughter; her previous book dealt with her travels on a small schooner sailing around the world with her son, also a great read.

Diana Vreeland’s autobiography, a lovely gift from Obasan, should prove interesting as well. ‘I’m a great believer in vulgarity – if it’s got vitality. A little bad taste is like a nice splash of paprika. We all need a splash of bad taste – it’s hearty, it’s healthy, it’s physical. I think we could use more of it. NO taste is what I’m against.’ – Diana Vreeland. Yes, it should be interesting!

For heavier stuff I’ll turn to a favorite subject and a favorite author. Kenzaburo Oe can be a difficult writer but one not to be missed; ‘Hiroshima Notes’ is a series of essays written concerning his visits to that city and interviews with it’s inhabitants.

Then there is ‘Democracy in America’. This one has been on the shelf, well, for years. It’s time has come.

One of my favorite authors, Aleksander Hemon, has a new book out. I pick up everything he has written and I think this list needs a little fiction thrown in.

Comments
2 Responses to “Summer Reading List”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] embarrassed to say that I’ve only reach page 128 in ‘My Life in France’; my summer reading list is a shambles. On Thursday I hosted an old-school Taco Night. So kitchens, and all the terribly […]

  2. […] Orly Airport in France, because I agree with Julia that Paris is one of the best places in the world. There was a nice girl who came into the shop […]



Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5 other followers

  • Contact

    Questions or comments may be directed to oakland.etsuko@gmail.com
